Hip-Hop Pioneer Shock G

Shock G passed away at the age of 57

In the hip hop community; we lost a real and true pioneer in the game that I truly respected that I really feel didn’t get props like no other and his name is Shock G of Digital Underground.

To me he’s was one of many musical genius; his style, the way he rhymed, producer, writer and how can I forget that he was the one introduced us to the late great Tupac Shakur; if it wasn’t for Shock G; it wouldn’t be no Pac.

As a lil girl first hearing Digital Underground first single “Humpty Hump” it was a big hit; I even had the outfit that my mama purchased from the swapmeet with “Humpty” on the front of my shirt. But who knew all this time it was Shock G as Humpty with the fake big nose…that was genius.

Unfortunately; we are at another lost. Shock G was found dead in his hotel room in Tampa, FL and I’m at a shocked of hearing his passing. As I was thinking to myself; “Why the fuck are we losing yet another legend”. Too unreal but we as fans have his music to continue his legacy. From the beautiful west coast out to all across the East; I think everybody should do the Humpty dance for his memory as Digital Underground memories continue.

Rest peacefully King

One response to “Hip-Hop Pioneer Shock G”

Leave a comment